top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Chung

Responsibilities on Top of Hobbies

Welcome to my seventh blog post! :)


There are a lot of things that I enjoy doing in my free time. I like to go on walks, talk with my family, meet my friends, sleep, taking photos and etc. But a trend that I noticed was that if I do what I like for school or as a chore, I end up feeling like it's something that I have to do. The things that I once enjoyed doing, started turning into just another one of my to-do lists and responsibilities.


Although this isn't really happening with the cooking part of my project, I feel like it has been happening a lot with the exercising aspect. On some weeks, I find myself really motivated to exercise and so I go to the gym several times during the week and on other days, I don't go as much but rather make up reasons for why I can't go.


I think my struggle this week has been on how to encourage myself enjoy the things that I'm doing within the time that I have been given. I want to use my time wisely and effectively so that I can get a lot of work done but still have some time for myself excluding everything I am doing at school.


So my plan this week, is to try something different in order to help myself enjoy the process of exercising again as I felt at the start of my project. Instead of making it an obligation to go to the gym to exercising, I will try to walk as much as possible whenever I'm going somewhere to run errands or use the stairs instead of the elevator or when I'm taking breaks, I'll do exercises in my room like sit-ups to get my blood flowing again. If I'm exercising a little bit throughout the day rather than setting up a time to exercise for a long time, I think I will find the motivation and enjoy the process a lot more!


This week was also a week for me to cook something new. Before, I ended up cooking very simple recipes related to breakfast. However this week, I had to cook myself lunch, so I decided to make Kimchi-fried rice with a few pieces of meat. Here is the process:

1. Get your ingredients: kimchi, sesame oil, regular oil, soy sauce, rice (and you could add other things like egg or 대파 I think it's called welsh onion)

2. Put the oil in your pan

3. Put the cut up kimchi into the pan

4. Mix in soy sauce and the sesame oil (that's why it looks a bit burnt in the photo!)

5. Put in the rice into the pan

6. Mix the kimchi and rice together well and let it cook for a little bit

7. Place the cooked rice on a plate!


I hope that this week, although I will be pretty busy, I will be able to improve the ways that I am working on my project a little bit more than before. Thank you for reading my blog this week!

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Getting Back on Track

Welcome to my blog for this week! This week was my first week back from the senior trip. I think because I really didn’t do anything last week, it was especially difficult for me to get back on track

bottom of page